A heritage-listed B & B guesthouse in Hobart constructed of sandstone and convict bricks, built in 1829 has been listed for leasehold sale.
This North Hobart guest house has a price tag of $465,000, with a wide and varied history, having had many different uses over the years.
The Lodge on Elizabeth operates as an accredited four-star accommodation abode, with 13 ensuite rooms and a cottage set in a garden at the rear of the property. There is also a breakfast room, guest lounge, small kitchen and modern two-bedroom owner's quarters.
The stately Georgian mansion is situated at 249 Elizabeth Street has operated as a guest house since the early 1990s, with the exterior maintained by the interstate landlord.
Lodge on Elizabeth was originally know as the Melbourne Lodge, built by John George Stracey, who was the colony's first auctioneer. It became a private boys' school in 1831, and later the home for George Salier and his 14 children. The Argus newspaper reported that in June 1892, making his way home from his warehouse, George Salier fell dead in Elizabeth Street. He "staggered, fell and never spoke again" .
There were many other notable residents, including Sir Adye Douglas who was the Tasmanian premier between 1884 and 1886.
The lodge promises to offer guests an "olde world" experience as opposed to a bland motel room and includes cellars with evidence as to where convicts have been chained and period furniture.
The property is listed for sale by Paul Scott of Tourism Brokers.